don't you tell me how i feel.


Everybody must get Stones by Steele
July 12, 2012, 9:38 am
Filed under: badass, best-of, not-new music, Shit I love, SUPERGROUP

A very happy birthday to the Rolling Stones, who performed their first show 50 years ago today at the London venue pictured here. It’s amazing a band can keep going for so long that both my parents and I can reminisce about listening to them when we were younger; theirs was one of my first concerts, the 1994 Voodoo Lounge tour, in a stadium that doesn’t even exist anymore!

Look, say what you will about the faltering quality of most of their stuff over the last decade or so, but these guys still put on an amazing show. They’re all-in at a time when they truly don’t have to be. As Keith Richards wrote in his terrific read, Life, “People say, ‘Why don’t you give it up?’ I don’t think they quite understand. I’m not doing it just for the money, or for you. I’m doing it for me.”

In celebration of a glorious career, full of booze, drugs, sweat, tight leather pants, fighting, drama, police, sex, women (and occasionally David Bowie), and above all, hard work, here are five of my all-time favorites. Not a definitive list, not their five greatest (no “Sympathy for the Devil” or “You Can’t Always Get What You Want”), just some of my favorites.

1. “Gimme Shelter” – Haunting, urgent, wild, like the sound of a revolution on the way.

 

2. “Paint it Black” – Badass, the first #1 song ever to feature a sitar, and possibly the first rock song about clinical depression.

3. “Angie” – A sorrowful goodbye to a relationship – and the dreams – crushed by the real world.

4. “Rocks Off” – An instant classic that set the tone for the band’s masterpiece, Exile On Main Street.

5. “Before They Make Me Run” – This little-known gem from Some Girls is my favorite of Keith’s songs.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Excellent choices.
After all this time, they seem like Stonehenge, but then something like “I am Waiting” turns up in a strange place, like a Wes Anderson movie, and reminds you of how good they have been.

Comment by Joe




what say you?

