don't you tell me how i feel.


Flashback Friday: How Will I Know by Steele
February 17, 2012, 6:39 am
Filed under: 80s, danceable, melancholy shit, obit, Shit I love, videoz

I adored Whitney Houston in my childhood; here was the first real cassette tape I ever had. Every now and then I’ll hear “How Will I Know” or “I Wanna Dance With Somebody” played over a crowded dance floor, and guess what: The place always goes bananas. Now, sadly, I imagine the clubs will be thumping with Whitney’s songs for quite some time.

Many of us hoped Whitney would stage a dramatic comeback one day. But, as we all know, sometimes it’s not enough to have pure talent, it’s not enough to have international adulation, or even the love of millions of people on your side, cheering for you. No need to go on and on about it, but addiction is a terrible thing. It takes everything you have, then it takes from the people around you. Many people wished better for Whitney Houston than what she got.

For anyone who doubted the natural power of her one-of-a-kind voice, check out the recording that went around the Internet this week, showcasing her isolated vocal track from “How Will I Know.” For purists, here’s the original, starring a Whitney who seems fresh, joyous and impossibly young.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



what say you?

