don't you tell me how i feel.


get low by v
February 15, 2012, 8:24 am
Filed under: melancholy shit, moody, New music, Shit I Like, Shit I Was Late on

It took me a while to come around to Lower Dens. My first exposure to the Baltimore band was a couple years back at a CMJ showcase, a performance that underwhelmed me at the time. My revised opinion, after spending some time digging into 2010’s Twin-Hand Movement, is that their subtle, dirgey sound translates much better via headphones. This is similar to my first impression of the UK’s XX — it didn’t grab me until I give it the requisite attention. Now I seriously can’t stop listening to it.

Check out the moody “Tea Lights,” where Jana Hunter’s husky vocal is punctuated by bursts of high-pitched guitar. AND OH THAT BASSLINE. It feels muddy in the best possible way…like angsty musical watercolors or something. Also, maybe some Mazzy Star? Maybe?

Once I fully digest Twin-Hand Movement, I’m looking forward to moving on to LD’s new record, coming out in May. You can download new single “Brains” at their site now. PREPARE YOURSELF. It’s going to be great.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

100% agree on all fronts. Hunter’s voice is a treasure.

Comment by Lehtola




what say you?

