don't you tell me how i feel.


Thank you, Morrissey by Steele
November 24, 2011, 6:20 am
Filed under: 80s, angsty boy alert, danceable, not-new music, Shit I love

Today I’m thankful for the Smiths, who are just a few of the many individuals who have enriched my musical life so consistently over the years.

When the band formed in 1982, they named themselves as a response to the increasingly ridiculous band names of the era. The group wished to represent the ordinary people of the world, and, as frontman Morrissey reasoned, nothing could sound more ordinary than “Smith.”

To people like myself and V, their sound was nothing short of transcendent; shimmering, pitch-perfect Brit-pop with a dark, beautiful undercurrent of melancholy. With any luck, I’ll be dancing my ass off to their songs for the rest of my life.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

HEAR HEAR

Comment by don't you tell me how i feel.




what say you?

