don't you tell me how i feel.


song of the thursday: “I Was There” by v
September 29, 2011, 8:28 am
Filed under: melancholy shit, New music, New Shit That Sounds Old, Shit I Like

Philly’s War on Drugs make wistful rock clearly influenced by the demigods of the genre. Basically, If Tom Petty and Bob Dylan had a baby but later discovered one of the real dads was actually Bruce Springsteen, said baby would be WOD singer Adam Granduciel, no question. The enunciation is all Dylan/Petty, but Springsteen hoo-hoos abound on their second record, Slave Ambient (especially on “Come to the City”). But I’d say they’re paying homage rather than being straight derivative.

Lately I’ve been loving the slow, easy piano of “I Was There,” above, and the hyper-Pettified “Your Love is Calling My Name” (freeway references and all), but it’s all solid — one of the better records I’ve heard in recent months.

Steele, I think you would dig it.

more info here

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Big fan of this album, yet I have an irrational hatred of Tom Petty. Can you make sense of that here?

Comment by William Bender

Surely you mean ENDURING LOVE.

Seriously though, I can see how a TP hater could love this. It’s more world-weary, less pop, perhaps. But you can’t deny he’s in there.

Comment by don't you tell me how i feel.




what say you?

