don't you tell me how i feel.


White Birds Tour: It Begins by don't you tell me how i feel.
September 23, 2011, 8:04 pm
Filed under: white birds tour


Over the course of the coming week, our correspondent and esteemed commenter Lehtola will be documenting life on tour with Pennsylvania band White Birds. Booze! Women! Poor hygiene! Watch it all unfold here.

A few weeks ago, a good friend of mine recently had to leave the country and move back to Malaysia. Adrian’s forced exodus was one of the more depressing moments of an otherwise excellent summer, and it really made me think about how much I (and a lot of people) take living in America entirely for granted.

A few weeks before Adrian left, we recorded a conversation on the dock of the East River Ferry in Brooklyn. We talked quite a bit about music, and I told him that I would be going on the road with White Birds, from September 23rd through October 1st, on a tour across the Midwest.

After a moment’s thought, Adrian said that a band driving across the country and playing shows every night was what America was all about. “Going from town to town, freely selling your wares, that’s why people came to this country in the first place,” he remarked.

I’d never thought about it like that before, but the idea makes a lot of sense. Over the course of the next ten days, I’ll be doing my best to describe what such an experience is like. Musically speaking, I can’t think of a better band to document. Listen for yourself:

Based in Doylestown, PA, and featuring former members of Drink Up Buttercup, the group is about to drop a 4-song, limited-edition tape via Grizzly Records. The upcoming jaunt across the Midwest, alongside Brooklyn’s Asobi Seksu, is the launching pad for this first release. Brand new White Birds T-shirts and snow hats will be sold.

I’ve known the gentlemen of White Birds – James Harvey (vocals/guitar), Mike Cammarata (drums), Farzad Houshiarnejad (vocals/keys) and Chris Radwanski (bass) – for 3 years now, and I’m happy to call them my friends. I can’t thank them enough for letting me tag along on this tour, and I hope I’ll be able to capture the experience, from my window to yours.

– Lehtola

You can follow Lehtola’s adventure on Twitter too. My, the internet is grand!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



what say you?

