don't you tell me how i feel.


Flashback Friday: “Where Do You Go” by v
September 2, 2011, 8:13 am
Filed under: danceable, flashback friday, wow

Clearly, the entire point of “Where Do You Go,” the 1996 one-hit wonder by pretty-boy trio No Mercy (which is actually a La Bouche cover, weirdly), is the repeated “oh-oh-oh OHHHHHs.” There are no real verses, as I see it. And in fact, I’m not even bothering to link to the actual video for this song (It involves button-down shirts, choreographed shuffles beside palm trees, and drives down the Macarthur Causeway in Miami. Yawn.)

BECAUSE the real point of this flashback is that in looking up “Where Do You Go” on YouTube, I was led into a magical fairyland of terrible/awesome Flashback Friday dance goodies. This particular binge included:

“Be My Lover” by La Bouche
“Rhythm of the Night” by Corona
“Rhythm is a Dancer” by Snap
“Mr. Vain” by Culture Beat
“It’s A Beautiful Life” by Ace of Base

I figure that because they’re all the same song, I could group them here for your time-wasting convenience.

You’re welcome!

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Genius. I am not watching any of them, because I have things to do, but damned if you’re not correct–each of these is burned deeply into my mind and could easily comprise a 90s dance megamix with almost no DJing effort.

Comment by Eric

I think a lot of indie bands today owe these 90’s dance music cats a lot of credit.

Comment by Lehtola




what say you?

