don't you tell me how i feel.


Viva la arena rock by Steele
July 14, 2011, 2:23 pm
Filed under: Muzzy, New music, radioooo, shit i sort of like, videoz

This is probably a good time to remind everyone that since V is on vacation this week, things are just going to have to be a little less focused and a lot less cool. Hence, let’s talk about Coldplay. Their new song is kind of good. I think the first two minutes are pretty great, actually, because it doesn’t sound as much like a Coldplay song as we have come to expect. It gets there by the end, and the guitar work goes from sort of sounding like U2 to REALLY sounding like U2, at which point I lose interest. But overall I dig what they’re going for here. It’s a little folksy, it’s very pop, and there’s a nice chord progression. They’re mixing it up a little. I give it a B.

Muzzy and I are often on the same page, music-wise, but he said when I heard this on the radio that “the song is much cooler when you’re watching the video, gotta be honest.” It turns out that I disagree vehemently. To me, the video has some appealing colors and camera work, but serves mostly as an all-too-vivid reminder that Chris Martin annoys the living shit out of me for no rational reason. But I’m not going to tell you how to feel; watch if you’re so inclined.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



what say you?

