don't you tell me how i feel.


Selling out by Steele
June 20, 2011, 6:01 am
Filed under: Get Off My Lawn, New music, radioooo, Shit I Hate

Okay, I need to get something off my chest. There is a song circulating on the radio that makes me apoplectic with anger. It comes from a young British gal who goes by the moniker “Jessie J,” and it concerns, well…let her tell it: “Seems like everybody’s got a price/wonder how they sleep at night/when the sale comes first and the truth comes second….It’s not about the money, money, money/we don’t need your money, money, money/We just wanna make the world dance/forget about the price tag.” OMG cute, right?? NO. NOT CUTE. And I will tell you why.

Okay, Jessie J., since you’re so into peace and happiness and it’s not about the MONEY, I guess it’s safe to assume that you just signed that record contract out of the goodness of your heart. Or, you’re probably going to take most of the money you make from this song and give it away to charity, right? And you’re cool with it if everyone who likes this song downloads it illegally, right? SURE YOU ARE. I mean, you’re not in this for the MONEY, am I right? Of course not, girl. You just wanna make the world dance. Who wouldn’t? Money can’t buy us happiness, guys! Just go on and forget about that price tag, everyone!

I realize I’m being deliberately obtuse here. Obviously there is a lot of shallowness in the world and an overemphasis on materialism, especially in the entertainment industry. I get that. But what the fuck, we’re supposed to be inspired by a goddamn burgeoning POP STAR WHO DOES NOT HAVE TO GO TO A DESK JOB EVERY DAY BECAUSE SHE IS MAKING MONEY BY TELLING US NOT TO CARE ABOUT GETTING PAID? OH HELL NO. OH. HELL. NO.

I honestly don’t know where all this rage is coming from. But when it comes to Jessie J., I just can’t seem to turn it off.

Listen to the song (or, on second thought, don’t) here.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



what say you?

