don't you tell me how i feel.


So sexy it huuuurts me! by Steele
May 4, 2011, 6:32 am
Filed under: danceable, haha, not-new music, Shit I love, Shit I Was Late on, triple wow

Y’all remember Right Said Fred? Of course you do. Surely I don’t need to remind anyone of the existence of “I’m Too Sexy,” the song that established them as one of the greatest one-hit wonders in history. I recently saw them highlighted in one of those vh-1 “I remember the 90s” shows that seem tailor-made for 30-something dorks like me who like to talk about shit like what a jerk Billy Corgan is and why Belly wasn’t bigger.

Anyway, when “I’m Too Sexy” came up, one of the commentators on the show said something like, “when this song first came out, I was like, ‘Those guys are so lame.’ But now I realize, those guys were HILARIOUS.” Same for me. At the age of 12, I had yet to develop my appreciation for camp humor, and I didn’t quite get that when they said things like “I’m a model, you know what I mean, and I shake my little tush on the catwalk”, they were not being serious. My loss!

Fortunately, vh-1 also made me aware of the existence of their 2009 single, “Sexy Bum.” This time, I’m pretty sure I’m in on the joke.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



what say you?

