don't you tell me how i feel.


Flashback Friday, RIP edition: Regulate by Steele
March 18, 2011, 6:00 am
Filed under: badass, danceable, flashback friday, Shit I love

It is with genuine sadness that I pay tribute to Nate Dogg, who met his maker this week at AGE FORTY-ONE. I don’t know about the rest of y’all in your 30s, but I would not have guessed he was just 10 years older than I am. Dude seemed wise. Sort of like, how crazy is it that Biggie was all of 24 when he died?

Reaction from the hip-hop community was poignant; Eminem said Nate Dogg “helped create the blueprint for West Coast hip-hop.” Snoop Dogg (no relation) tweeted: “We lost a true legend n hip hop n rnb, one of my best friends n a brother to me since 1986 when I was a sophomore at poly high where we met.”

Nate Dogg will forever be immortalized in Warren G’s timeless “Regulate,” which would truly have been nothing without his resonant, authoritative, smooth-as-silk voice. Pour one out tonight for our homey Nate, if only metaphorically.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

“One of them dames was sexy as hell, I said ‘Oooh, I like your size’ / She says my car’s broke down and you sing real nice would ya…let…me ride?”

Comment by Lehtola




what say you?

