don't you tell me how i feel.


land o’lakes by v
March 15, 2011, 12:00 pm
Filed under: melancholy shit, New music, not-new music, shit i sort of like

I’m not totally sure where I fall with the Besnard Lakes. I think they’re one of those groups that is all hahaha we’re sad and we love it and so there. Which can be good.

As per usual, I am late to the party on this one — the record I’ve been listening to is actually 2007’s The Besnard Lakes Are the Dark Horse. The first track, “Disaster,” is a bit slow-moving for me (and his voice sort of grates initially), but once it gets going, I enjoy the way it marinates in unhappiness and strings for five minutes. And that’s pretty much the name of the game all the way through the record. I’d reserve this for times when you want to concentrate at the task at hand and can hang with some moody noodling. 

MOODY NOODLING! 

The band was formed by husband and wife team Jace Lasek and Olga Goreas, and the current album is The Besnard Lakes are the Roaring Night, which I have yet to hear. The title for whatever reason made me think of that website Barack Obama Is Your New Bicycle. If you know what I’m talking about, YEAH

anyway. you should also watch this video for “Devastation” for its fly animation. Also because the song is probably the most upbeat one on the record, in case you weren’t feeling “Disaster.”

theirspace

bye!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



what say you?

