don't you tell me how i feel.


The doctor is in, etc etc, insert cheap pun here by Steele
February 24, 2011, 5:06 pm
Filed under: comeback?, New music, shit i don't get, tired

New music is on the way from my much-beloved Dr. Dre. What’s it been, 15 years? Well, basically: after releasing 2001 (in 1999), he started working on the upcoming Detox in 2003. Albums aren’t like novels, so usually that kind of delay is not a good sign – rather an indication that people can’t get their shit together/are overworking the songs.

New Eminem-heavy single “I Need a Doctor” does nothing to boost my sinking feelings. It’s…pretty cheesy? Way overproduced? Whiny? Unwisely dependent on a stupid “doctor” metaphor? There’s a lot that’s off. It feels old, cumbersome and not refreshing at all. Not what you want when you’re trying to remind people that you’re a founding father of gangsta rap.

There are a couple glimmers of hope here, namely the melody and backbeat, which, if you listen closely, are classic Dre – just drenched in a lot more sugar than we’re used to. I don’t want to fault the guy for branching out and trying to change with the times, but let’s not forget you’re still D.R.E. You’re still puffin’ the leafs, still with the beats – still not lovin’ police.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

ugh. just watched the video. so bad. so, so bad. i need a doctor.

Comment by andrew

In retrospect, I went way too gentle on this. The lyrics are kind of horrendous. “You’re supposed to be my fuckin’ mentor” is one of the most unintentionally hilarious lines I’ve heard in a long time.

Comment by Steele

Yup, both weak and whack. I think the good Doctor may be tapped out. But think about it, dude has been making dope beats since 1986. He started with N.W.A when he was like, what, 22, in 1987? You could argue that Dre was untouchable (and for real relevant)from 1987-2007. That’s a long time to remain a factor for any musical artist, ESPECIALLY in hip-hop.

Look at all the amazing records he had a hand in:

http://en.wikipedia.or/wiki/Category:Albums_produced_by_Dr._Dre

Anyway, if this new ilk be the death rattle for Dr. Dre, I can’t be too sad about it. Dude has been on my musical radar since I was 9 years old. I was listening to Straight Outta Compton in the 4th grade – that’s where I learned how to curse! I’m fucking 32 now, for real, Dre has to run out of evolutionary steam at some point…

Comment by Lehtola




what say you?

