don't you tell me how i feel.


Flashback Friday: Cry Me a River by Steele
February 18, 2011, 4:01 pm
Filed under: angsty boy alert, breakups, flashback friday, Shit I love, solo projectz

It’s not an exaggeration to say that no one could have anticipated the significance of Justin Timberlake’s first single  (which, with a 2002 release date, I realize is skirting the definition of “flashback”, but I’m the boss around here and I do what I want). With one soulful, ominous-sounding swoop, Timberlake marked the beginning of what would be a mind-blowingly successful partnership with producer Timbaland, made a clean break from the boys of *NSync and re-introduced himself as a grown-ass man – one who broods, stalks and exacts cold revenge. Meow!

Speaking of revenge, the song is to this day believed to be a re-telling of the Justin-Britney Spears breakup that rocked the world many moons ago.  I know Britney’s had bigger problems to deal with, but I still have to think this must have really stung. Timberlake pulled off a major artistic breakthrough; all she got was a lousy husband and a horrifying mental breakdown.

Wow, shit just got dark. Hey, click through and enjoy!

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Guy I know lives in the Delaware Valley and has a sideline business as a sports statistician. Might not sound like much, but the networks fly him around the country to do NFL and NBA games, and he’s always busy doing Big Five etc. this time of year.
In 2002, the NBA All-Star game was at the First Onion/Wachovia/CoreStates/Wahovia/Unabanker Center. He was outside the VIP entrance catching a smoke with some other people when Britney and Justin arrived. She walked up and started berating them, saying she was told the entire place was smoke-free and they should put out their butts. Justin was following behind, and just rolled his eyes and put up his palms.
Later, my friend was working down on the floor near Brit & Just and one of the press aides came by to get stat sheets for dissemination. Britney saw her and called out, “Hey, bring me a Diet Pepsi!” The woman said, “I’m sorry, I’m not a vendor, I can’t.” Britney said, “I don’t want to hear excuses, I want a Diet Pepsi!” At this point, Justin intervened and found a vendor. So we weren’t surprised when they broke up a few weeks later.

Comment by Joe




what say you?

