don't you tell me how i feel.


The ones I love by Steele
January 26, 2011, 1:00 am
Filed under: comeback?, New music, Shit I love

Songs are emerging from the forthcoming R.E.M. album, Collapse Into Now.  R.E.M. is my favorite band ever, so I can’t pretend to be objective, but I’ll admit that they have struggled to find their way in recent years. Despite occasional flashes of brilliance, their records this last decade or so have been unfocused and uneven (with the exception of Up, which I will go to my deathbed defending as a gorgeous, underrated masterpiece). 

But 2008’s lean, guitar-driven Accelerate was a step in the right direction, and judging by this new song, they’ve built on that sound and expanded it. This is – dare I say it? – promising.

REM - Discoverer by statemagazine

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Wow. Totally fucking agree. (Unless that’s not allowed on this site, in which case I totally f@cking agree.) Thanks for sharing.

Comment by Joe

[…] getting pretty excited about the new R.E.M. album. While last week’s song sounded like a return to the band’s rock-arena sound, this evokes the R.E.M. of 1992, […]

Pingback by Finding their religion « don't you tell me how i feel.




what say you?

