don't you tell me how i feel.


Counterpoint: I don’t want to miss a thing by Steele
January 7, 2011, 5:15 pm
Filed under: tv and such

I would like everyone to know that V’s remarks on her disinterest in watching Steven Tyler on American Idol in no way reflect the views of all of us here at Don’t You Tell Me How I Feel. And frankly, I was surprised to hear her so callously dismiss a man who she has loyally crushed on since the dawn of her teen years. I’m not going to tell V how she feels – obviously, that goes against my core principles – but it’s a good thing Steven isn’t reading our blog (that we know of), because man, V would never stand a chance with him now.

I’ve never been a regular viewer of American Idol and haven’t seen it in years, but I am not ashamed to say that I’m looking forward to seeing Tyler as a judge. J. Lo too, actually. I predict she’ll be the new Simon, all bitchy and whatnot, while Tyler will fill the void left by Paula – he’ll get really pumped about things, babble crazy phrases, honestly be moved by people’s hard-luck stories and generally be totally into the whole thing. Hopefully he’ll break out into song at some point. Ack-ack-ack-ack-owww! I also think he and J.Lo stand a real chance at rejuvenating the stale AI brand, but I’m not going to front like I care about that.

Kid Rock recently went after Tyler for doing the show, saying it was the “stupidest thing he’s ever done”, which, seriously, Kid Rock? I mean, Steven Tyler has probably done more stupid shit than even Kid Rock (who married Pamela Anderson, by the way) can begin to fathom. But I think the gig could be a great fit. Tyler’s not a young man anymore, and apparently he hasn’t been able to end his lifelong struggles with drugs and alcohol. Recent surgeries have resulted in relapses, due to pain meds. Let’s not forget the soap opera he went through with Aerosmith’s Joe Perry last year, the two of them breaking up and getting back together and complaining about each other like a couple of high school girls with blogs. All of this says to me that touring as a musician is becoming a non-option for him. And I will agree with V that, creatively, Aerosmith ran out of juice several albums ago anyway. 

So, while I acknowledge that Steven Tyler will never write another great rock song, in my heart I know that Steven Tyler, rock star, is not ready to be put out to pasture. He’s got more wackiness to give us. And I’m ready for it. What can I say? I love the man.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



what say you?

