don't you tell me how i feel.


Mariah: Merry, not-so-bright by v
December 20, 2010, 1:23 pm
Filed under: i'm just sayin, not-new music, shit i don't get, Shit I Hate, whatever

Maybe I’m a horrible person, but I pretty much hate all Christmas music. The fact that it is forced down your throat upon entering any store between October and January may have something to do with this.

What’s more annoying is that every year a new slew of pop stars takes it upon themselves to rework these tired tunes. There is nothing Christina Aguilera or Taylor Swift can do for “Santa Claus is Coming to Town” that we haven’t already heard. Come now.

But today I’d like to call out Mariah Carey for this year’s “extra festive” remix of “All I Want for Christmas is You,” ostensibly the crowning glory of her new holiday album, Merry Christmas II You (I won’t bother commenting on this title). As you may recall, the original came out in 1994 and was accompanied by a cozy little video featuring a red-clad Carey sledding, decking halls and fondling rabbits. Great success followed.

So why, 16 years later, is she fronting like there’s any difference whatsoever between this and the original?

Booo

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I detect no additional festivity.

Comment by Steele

[…] you tell me how i feel. the more i give to you, the more i die. « Mariah: Merry, not-so-bright Holiday Flowers December 21, […]

Pingback by Holiday Flowers « don't you tell me how i feel.




what say you?

