don't you tell me how i feel.


Beck in the day by Steele

Music is like magic, the way it can take you back to a time in your life, or a person. I associate Nelly’s “Ride Wit Me” with my senior year of college (and, now that I think of it, “Hot in Herre” with the summer I got my first apartment). The Replacements’ “Unsatisfied” is forever linked to my friend Michael. There’s one man I always think of when I hear anything by Coldplay, and he knows who he is, and if you’re reading this, I just hope you know that I — SIKE! Just playin, y’all. This is not that kind of party.

Anyway, Beck’s Sea Change album was in heavy rotation during the fall of 2002, when I moved to New Hampshire. It’s what I listened to when I started turning into a grownup, which felt like an ending and a beginning. It was the bridge between my old self and the irreversible changes that came with my new life. I always listen to Sea Change at this time of year; when I hear these songs I can close my eyes and remember how the changing leaves looked from behind my windshield on those drives I took through the small, quiet towns of beautiful New Hampshire. I remember an exhilarating sense of being all alone, as if I had grasped for the first time that my entire life was stretching out before me, and I had no idea what was going to happen next.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

that was kinda touching.

Comment by mattkatz

Is the Coldplay guy Henry? Yeah, I thought so. But seriously, I listened to Sea Change during that same time in my life, though some things were more familiar for me. Like being in Philly. Things seemed very serious all of a sudden, and though there’s little happiness about in Sea Change, the ethereal quality was helpful.

Comment by Care




what say you?

